Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

In the market for a trailer. QUESTIONS!!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• In the market for a trailer. QUESTIONS!!

Hey guys I'm in the market to buy a trailer to haul the jeep. That is pretty much all that I will be hauling on it. Since I am still new to this 4 wheel thing as opposed to 2 wheels, what do I need to be looking for? Wood or steel deck? 3500lb axles or 5200lb? Dovetail or no? 2in coupler or 2 5/16?16' or 18'?

And what are good pRices and places to buy them and brands?

I will be pulling it with my 2008 chevy 2500 HD with the 6.0 gas motor.

Thanks for any input!

Travis

I dont know what would be good for you, but I am wanting a light 16 foot trailer with twin 3500 pound axles. It will have a wood deck that is also incorporated into the design to support weight of jeep, thus allowing less steel to be used (lower trailer weight) I designed this a couple of years ago, just havent had the funds to build it yet ! ;-)

at 16 foot, I can still have a pickup truck tool box mounted on nose (of flatbed, first two feet for tool box, the other 14 feet for jeep) for spare parts and i do not want nor need a dove tail !
    Last edited by spunebil; 11-27-2010, 04:46 PM.
    I may be Rad and I may be Bad :pbj: but I am never SAD ! :kilt:
    Yea I'm *Q*C* and ?
    it is a great feeling to have served your country and walk PROUD
    Yes veterans stand tall and their shadow protects all !

Comment

Mine is a 18' dovetail steel deck. It has 3500 axles and brakes on both axles. Mine is a Maxey and I got it at Truck Trailer and Hitch in Grandview. I'm very happy with mine. Mine has a 2" ball.

Comment