tj skid plate

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• tj skid plate

does any one know what to do when your transfer case skid plate is loose and it rattles a lot when ever you put a load on the drive line? the bolts wont loosen or tighten. any suguestions please thanks

shawn

i'm no expert but i have had mine off 3-4 times. the bolts should lossen. get some penitrating oil and a bigger wrench and try loosening it again.

are you sure its your plate that is ratteling? my exaust used to do that when i was in deep soft sand- (heavy load on driveline).

Comment

Sounds like it could be the cat??????
      2006 LJ Rubicon

Comment

its the skid plate i have a little over a 1/8th of a inch of play in all of the spacers...and the bolts spin freeley. so my guess is the guy that had the jeep before me striped them out. any idias how to get them off? thanks

shawn

Comment

Comment

grinder or sawzall.
            You have an XJ right?
            then you have nutserts.
            No real easy cure.

I took a nut of the apropriate size, folded a rather oversized fender washer over it ( made a nut taco so to speak) the ground the washer away to insure clearance, then fished the homemade nutsert into the framerail, then got the bolt started, then cussed alot, then got it down tight enough to grab, then tightened it down tight enough, then wheeled it. Repeated same on the skid to crossmember mount.
            have fun!
            Best of luck!
            Adam G

Comment

i have a tj and thanks for the info.

Comment

EW. Then you have more issues than you think, that "skid" is also the mount for your tranny, best get that fixed pronto.
                Adam G

Comment

i know thats what is makingm e worry about it. if it was just the skid plate i would deal with it but its a bigger problem than just that. do you thank it would be work it i could find a way to get the bolts out and just retap the nuts that are welded in to the frame?

Comment